Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Updates on council services, health advice, and support available for residents and businesses.

swindon.gov.uk/coronavirus

Dates for school terms and holidays

These are the term dates and holidays for community and voluntary controlled schools in Swindon. Other councils set their own dates, which may be different to ours.

Academies, free schools, foundation schools and voluntary-aided schools are free to set their own term dates, which may be different to ours. Parents should check the agreed term dates with their child's school.

The school year is 195 days. Five of these days are available for staff training (sometimes called inset days), which means pupils go to school for 190 days in a school year. 

Each school chooses when their staff training days take place. The school should contact you to let you know these dates. You may also be able to find the information on their website, or you can contact the school to ask.

2020 to 2021

  • Term 1 (37 days): Tuesday, 1 September to Wednesday, 21 October 2020
  • Term 2 (35 days): Monday, 2 November to Friday, 18 December 2020
  • Term 3 (30 days): Monday, 4 January to Friday, 12 February 2021
  • Term 4 (29 Days): Monday, 22 February to Thursday, 1 April 2021
  • Term 5 (29 days): Monday, 19 April to Friday, 28 May 2021 (There is a bank holiday on Monday, 3 May)
  • Term 6 (35 days): Monday, 7 June to Friday, 23 July 2021

England and Wales bank holiday dates are published on the GOV.UK website.

You can download our easy-to-read school term planner 2020 to 2021.

2021 to 2022

  • Term 1 (38 days): Wednesday, 1 September to Friday, 22 October 2021
  • Term 2 (35 days): Monday, 1 November to Friday, 17 December 2021
  • Term 3 (29 days): Tuesday, 4 January to Friday, 11 February 2022
  • Term 4 (30 Days): Monday, 21 February to Friday, 1 April 2022
  • Term 5 (28 days): Tuesday, 19 April to Friday, 27 May 2022 (There is a bank holiday on Monday, 2 May)
  • Term 6 (35 days): Monday, 6 June to Friday, 22 July 2022

England and Wales bank holiday dates are published on the GOV.UK website.

You can download our easy-to-read school term planner 2021 to 2022.

Give feedback about this page

Help us to improve this website

Use this form to provide feedback on this webpage. Don't use it to contact us about a service or make a complaint. We will not reply, even if you include personal details such as your name and address. If you want us to reply, you should contact us in a different way.

What is your feedback for this webpage?