Conservatives increase majority following local election

The Conservative Party has increased its majority to 15 seats in the Swindon Borough Council Chamber following yesterday’s Borough-wide election.

Published: Friday, 7th May 2021

Borough election count 2021

Of the 21 seats up for election this year, seven changed hands leaving the Conservatives with 36 seats overall, Labour with 20, and a single Independent.

The count, which was held today at the Council-owned STEAM Museum, saw the Conservatives gain six seats in Wroughton and Wichelstowe (David Martyn), Haydon Wick (John Jackson), Rodbourne Cheney (Srisudha Nukana), Penhill and Upper Stratton (Daniel Smith), Central (Lourenco Fernandes) and Liden, Eldene & Park South (Curtis Flux).

The Conservatives also held on to seats in Blunsdon & Highworth (Kumar Manro), Chiseldon & Lawn (William Horley), Covingham & Dorcan (Barbara Parry), Lydiard & Freshbrook (Matthew Courtliff), Priory Vale (Jo Morris), Ridgeway (Gary Sumner) Shaw (Keith Williams), St Andrews (Daniel Adams), St Margaret & South Marston (Russell Holland) and Wroughton & Wichelstowe (Brian Ford).

Labour (Marina Strinkovsky) made one gain by taking the Eastcott seat held by longstanding Liberal Democrat councillor Stan Pajak.

Labour also held seats in Old Town (Jane Milner-Barry), Gorse Hill & Pinehurst (Ray Ballman), Mannington & Western (Kevin Small) and Walcot & Park North (Mohammed Miah).

Turnout for the election was 38 per cent overall.

Full results are available here.

Swindon Borough Council news RSS feed